



Alaska Performance Scholarship (APS) Legislation Overview and Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

(Updated 9/6/24)

APS Legislation Overview:

In June 2024, the Governor signed key legislation aimed to improve access to and utilization of the APS. This legislation enacted several changes impacting eligibility criteria for the Class of 2024 and beyond, as well as some changes that may impact continuing students. ACPE, along with the Department of Education and Early Development (DEED), realize there are many questions surrounding the applications and administration of the bill. As we work toward implementing the changes for the fall 2024 semester, we will continually update these FAQs with information as it becomes available. Check back frequently for updates and additional FAQs.

APS Legislation FAQs:

IS A QUALIFYING SCORE ON A COLLEGE/CAREER ENTRANCE EXAM REQUIRED?

The new APS legislation removes the standardized test score requirement. Students in the Class of 2024 can now become APS eligible by meeting a minimum GPA requirement OR minimum test score requirement, as long as all other requirements are met.

WHAT ARE THE AWARD AMOUNTS?

	QUALIFICATION 1:		QUALIFICATION 2:		
Level 1	Qualifying High School Curriculum	+	High School GPA of 3.5 -OR-	ACT 25, SAT 1210, or Workeys 18 (no score below 6)	\$7,000
Level 2	Qualifying High School Curriculum	+	High School GPA of 3.0 -OR-	ACT 23, SAT 1130, or Workeys 15 (no score below 5)	\$5,250
Level 3	Qualifying High School Curriculum	+	High School GPA of 2.5 -OR-	ACT 21, SAT 1060, or Workeys 12 (no score below 4)	\$3,500







WHEN IS THE LEGISLATION EFFECTIVE?

Changes are effective immediately, as of June 28, 2024, and affect the eligibility criteria for the Class of 2024 and beyond.

WHAT IS THE STEP-UP PROVISION AND WHAT ARE THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS?

The new legislation adds a provision for continuing students. Each time a student completes two consecutive semesters of full-time enrollment at a qualifying postsecondary institution in Alaska after June 28, 2024, the postsecondary institution shall review and report the student's GPA to ACPE. If the student's GPA increases to a certain level, their APS award level is increased. For the purpose of the step-up provision "full-time enrollment" means enrollment in a course of study that is not less than 15 credits.

- If the GPA is above 3.0, the student will qualify for APS award level 2.
- If the GPA is above 3.5, the student will qualify for APS award level 1.

Example: If a 2023 graduate, who qualified for a level 2 APS award at the time of HS graduation, takes 15 credits the fall semester of 2024 and another 15 credits the spring semester 2025 and ends with a 3.5 GPA, they will qualify for a level 1 APS award for the following semester.

WHAT ARE THE CURRICULUM REQUIREMENTS?

The new legislation expanded the high school curriculum qualifying options. More details will be provided on this as we learn more.

CAN STUDENTS WHO GRADUATED IN 2023 AND PRIOR AND DID NOT MEET ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS NOW QUALIFY UNDER THE NEW REQUIREMENTS?

No. Alaska Statute 14.03.020 defines the school year as beginning July 1st and ending June 30th. The new legislation has an effective date of June 28, 2024; therefore, it is effective for the July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2024 school year and applies to the graduating class of 2024.

Example: A 2023 graduate, who did not take one of the required standardized tests prior to graduating, was not eligible for the APS at the time of graduation. Because the new legislation was signed on June 28, 2024, before the end of the 2024/2025 school year, it applies to the graduating Class of 2024, but not before. Therefore, the 2023 graduate would still not be eligible for the APS.







DOES THE SCHOLARSHIP EXPIRE?

The new legislation extends the term of use from six years from the date of high school graduation to eight years and has an effective date of June 28, 2024. Therefore, if the student's term of use was exhausted and APS eligibility ended prior to the new legislation's effective date, the student's eligibility will remain unchanged and will not be extended under the new legislation. Students who are still within their six-year eligibility period as of June 30, 2024, will have an additional two years to use an APS award.

Example: Any student who graduated after 2019 would still be within their six-year eligibility term as of June 28, 2024 and would therefore have an additional two years added to their APS eligibility, for a total of eight years.

WHAT IF I HAVE NOT FILLED OUT THE FAFSA (FREE APPLICATION FOR FEDERAL STUDENT AID)?

While the priority date for completing the FAFSA for the 2024-25 academic year was June 30, 2024, students are encouraged to complete the FAFSA as soon as possible. Completing the FAFSA is required for a student to receive the APS.

CAN I RECEIVE APS IF I ATTEND PART-TIME?

Yes, students are eligible for up to eight full-time disbursements. However, a student's eligibility is extended by one semester for each semester the student is enrolled part-time in good standing at an APS-qualified university of college. Students must use their disbursements within eight years of their graduation date.

